License Suspensions

Administrative License Revocation Hearing: The ALR Process

Act Now! Save your License! A driver who either fails or refuses to take a breath or blood test after being arrested for DWI will have his or her driver's license suspended unless, within 15 days of the time he or she received a notice of suspension (which is usually the day of your arrest), an ALR hearing is requested. If a hearing is requested, an administrative judge will preside over the hearing.

If you were recently arrested and have not requested an ALR hearing contact our office now and we can request one for you.

Issues to be Decided at an ALR Hearing*

If you Refused to take a Breath or Blood Test
(Suspension for not less than 180 days)

  1. Was there reasonable suspicion or probable cause for the officer to stop for arrest the driver?
  2. Was there probable cause for the officer to believe the driver was intoxicated?
  3. Was the driver offered the opportunity to provide a specimen of breath or blood?
  4. Did the driver refuse to provide a specimen?

If You Provided a Breath or Blood Test and Failed
(Suspension for not less than 90 days)

  1. Was there reasonable or probable cause for the officer to stop and or arrest the driver?
  2. Was there probable cause for the officer to believe the driver was intoxicated?
  3. While driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle in a public place, did the driver have an alcoholic concentration of 0.08 or greater?

* The issues are different for cases involving drivers under 21 years of age and for drivers of commercial vehicles.

Driver's License Reinstatement

A driver whose license is suspended in a ALR hearing will receive information from the DPS concerning reinstatement of driving privileges. The license is not automatically reinstated after the suspension period is over, so it is important to carefully follow the instructions provided by DPS.

What Happens If You Lose The ALR Hearing?

If you lose your ALR hearing and your driver’s license is suspended you may qualify for an occupational driver’s license. For information on the process for obtaining an occupational driver’s license, see our web page entitled Occupational Driver’s License.

Act Now to Protect Your Freedom, Driving Privileges and Legal Rights

If you or a loved one has been arrested or charged with a DWI or DUI within Collin County, Texas and the surrounding cities of McKinney, Allen, Frisco, Richardson, Dallas, Denton, Wylie, Addison, Prosper, Celina and The Colony, Texas and you need the help of an experienced drunk driving defense lawyer, call The Law Offices of Biederman & Burleson, P.L.L.C. today at (866) 439-2182 to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation with an experienced Plano, Texas DWI defense trial attorney.